209 Days left – Challenge Accepted.


At the end of 2010 I foolishly entered the Comrades marathon. I was full of bravado about how I was going to run it in nine hours or under. This was obviously the plans of a ignorant person who has obviously not run much, because just finishing the Comrades is a truly big accomplishment. I think a lot of people are fooled by the look of the people stumbling into the stadium in the dying moments of the race, and I have said more than a few times: “If that person can do it, so can I”. How wrong I was. Don’t be fooled by big beer guts and legs resembling tree stumps shuffling along. The owners of the beer guts and tree stumps will almost always outrun me and for the life of me I cannot understand where the power comes from, surely a ex springbok athlete should be able to run a bit. Well, I didn’t do Comrades in 2011 but have now planned to do it in 2012. I only just qualified this past weekend at the Rudemans Kaapse Hoop Marathon (More about that later) in Nelspruit and not even one hour after uttering the words “Never again” as I crossed the finish line I started planning my road to Comrades. I am definitely a sucker for punishment, cruel and unusual punishment. I am a runner.

Leave a Reply

