Day 24 – The reason you believe you’re still alive today

Having retired from professional road riding two years ago I am actually very regularly extremely grateful that I am still gracing this planet with my presence.  I had one specific crash in Golden Gate where I fell myself to pieces literally and had to be put back together like Humpty Dumpty at the Bethlehem Medi Clinic.  The only reason I survived the high-speed crash was because I fell in such a way that only my shoulder broke and not my head… I also remember countless times having cars, busses and trucks speed past me so close that I could actually feel the metal brush my skin.  I have missed potholes, dodged dogs and other animals, avoided bike jackers and survived Nigerian traffic on my bike so I think the only reason I am still alive today is by the Grace of God and sheer luck! Now that I’m getting older I often shudder at the thought of all the silly, stupid and totally crazy things I did on my bike! But hell it was fun!

Leave a Reply

